Bolivia’s differences

Bolivia is unfortunately a not really known country.

So far it is the country with the biggest cultural shock we have noticed.

It could be said that it is divided in two zones: the zone of the “Altiplano” (west), where the Coyas live, and the rest of Bolivia (east) where the Cambas live. And we can confirm that the differences are very huge, both landscape and climatological and cultural. The western Bolivian is headed by La Paz, the most important city and seat of government (although it is not the capital of the country as it is usually believed, the capital is Sucre). From this zone the flames, the Andes and the Quechua and Aymara people (the Coyas) are known. And it is perhaps the best known area. In the mountain range of the Andes there are very high cities above sea level where the climate could be considered polar and where to endure the altitude is very common to see people chewing coca leaves. The Bolivian Oriente is headed by the department of Santa Cruz de la Sierra that is the region of greater economic activity of Bolivia. And where the Cambas claim their identity, even existing nationalist groups willing to separate from the rest of Bolivia. Here, in the plains of Bolivia, the land is very fertile and the climate is tropical, we have been here in the middle of winter, with a heat of 34 degrees! The three eastern states: Santa Cruz, Beni and Pando, later joined by Tarija in the south formed the crescent moon, which unsuccessfully attempted to become independent from the rest of the Plurinational State of Bolivia, as renamed the Republic of Bolivia.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

%d bloggers like this: